WWE Day 1 2021: Roman Reigns pulled, start times, how to watch and Peacock

WWE

The wrestling year is starting with some chaos. The scheduled main event of Day 1 has been changed: Roman Reigns was meant to defend his Universal Championship against Brock Lesnar, but he’s now off the show due to testing positive for COVID. Most importantly, we hope Roman gets well soon. 

As for Day 1 though, Brock Lesnar has now been inserted into the Fatal Four Way bout for the WWE Championship — which now becomes a Fatal Five Way. Big E defends his WWE Championship against Seth Rollins, Kevin Owens, Bobby Lashley and Brock Lesnar. 

I yearn to perform tonight at #WWEDay1 to defend my Universal Championship. However, unfortunately, earlier today I tested positive for COVID-19. Due to the proper protocols I am unable to compete as originally scheduled. I look forward to returning to action as soon as possible.

— Roman Reigns (@WWERomanReigns) January 1, 2022

Start times 

Day 1 takes place at Atlanta’s State Farm Arena on Jan. 1. For those without a live ticket, it starts at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m ET. Grappling fans across the pond will have to stay up late, as the show starts at 1 a.m. UK time. In Australia, Day 1 begins at midday AEDT on Sunday.

Get the CNET Culture newsletter

Explore movies, games, superheroes and more with CNET Culture. Delivered Tuesdays and Fridays.

How to watch: Peacock, WWE Network

As you probably know by now, Peacock is the new home of WWE’s pay-per-views. The WWE Network has in essence migrated to NBC’s Peacock streaming service, and that’s where you’ll go to watch WWE Day 1 2021. Peacock has three tiers: Free, Premium and Premium Plus. To watch WWE content, you’ll need a Premium subscription. The good news is that’ll set you back $5 a month, less than the $10 for WWE Network. 

If you’re outside of the US, you’ll watch Day 1 2021 on the WWE Network as usual. 

Full Card

  • WWE Championship: Big E vs. vs. Brock Lesnar vs. Kevin Owens vs. Seth Rollins vs. Bobby Lashley. 
  • Edge vs. The Miz.
  • Raw Women’s Championship: Becky Lynch (c) Liv Morgan.
  • Raw Tag Team Championships: RK-Bro (c) vs. The Street Profits. 
  • SmackDown Tag Team Championships: The Usos (c) vs. The New Day.
  • Drew McIntyre vs. Madcap Moss.
  • Kickoff Show match: Cesaro and Ricochet vs. Ridge Holland and Sheamus. 

Movies coming in 2022 from Marvel, Netflix, DC and more


See all photos

Read More

Share

Post comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *